Judas Priest's 'Defenders of the Faith' gets deluxe reissue treatment

Remastered package includes complete live recording from 'Defenders' tour

Judas Priest from the 'Defenders
of the Faith' era
Judas Priest was on a roll. After birthing the classic 1980 album British Steel, the U.K. metal gods upped the ante two years later with the juggernaut known as Screaming for Vengeance

So, what did they do for an encore? Defenders of the Faith was the response, another platinum effort that spawned legendary tracks such as "Some Heads Are Gonna Roll," "Love Bites," "The Sentinal," "Freewheel Burning" and "Jawbreaker." And they incurred the wrath of the Parents Music Resource Center with "Eat Me Alive," a song which will live in infamy as one of the "Filthy Fifteen." 

On March 10, 2015, Defenders of the Faith gets the deluxe expanded reissue treatment, with a three-CD extravaganza from Columbia/Legacy that collects the original ten-track album remastered by producer Tom Allom, as well as a complete live recording from the "Defenders" tour, recorded at the Long Beach Arena in California, on May 5, 1984.

Cleaved into two discs, the 21-track concert recording combines what was then new material from the band's ninth studio effort with Priest gems like "Electric Eye," "You've Got Another Thing Coming," "Metal Gods," "Breaking the Law," "Sinner," "The Green Manalishi (With the Two-Pronged Crown)," and "Victim of Changes," among many others.

As the band states in the liner notes to the reissue, "It's 30 years since we released 'Defenders of the Faith' – we're very proud to say it has become a classic that's beloved by Priest fans throughout the world."

Still out there wreaking havoc, Priest released its 17th studio LP, Redeemer of Souls, in 2014. The album debuted at No. 6 on the Billboard 200, Priest's best-ever showing. Interestingly, the band is performing a number of tracks from Defenders of the Faith on its current tour.

And soon, fans will get a chance to re-experience vintage Judas Priest, with the 'Defenders of the Faith' reissue. Here's a track listing:

CD1 'Defenders of the Faith' Re-Mastered 

1.   Freewheel Burning
2.   Jawbreaker
3.   Rock Hard Ride Free
4.   The Sentinel
5.   Love Bites
6.   Eat Me Alive
7.   Some Heads Are Gonna Roll
8.   Night Comes Down
9.   Heavy Duty
10. Defenders of the Faith

CD2 Live at Long Beach Arena, California 5th May 1984 

1.   Love Bites
2.   Jawbreaker
3.   Grinder
4.   Metal Gods
5.   Breaking the Law
6.   Sinner
7.   Desert Plains
8.   Some Heads Are Gonna Roll
9.   The Sentinel 
10. Rock Hard Ride Free

CD3 Live at Long Beach Arena, California 5th May 1984 

1.   Night Comes Down
2.  The Hellion
3.   Electric Eye
4.   Heavy Duty
5.   Defenders of the Faith
6.   Freewheel Burning 
7.   Victim of Changes
8.   The Green Manalishi (With the Two-Pronged Crown)
9.   Living After Midnight
10. Hell Bent For Leather
11. You’ve Got Another Thing Coming

No comments:

Post a Comment